The Gold Medal is the most prestigious honour awarded by the World Association for Sexual Health (WAS). A maximum of five medals are awarded at the WAS Biennial Congress.

Nominations may be submitted by anyone experienced in the field and should be supported by two other persons who are known to the World Association for Sexual Health (WAS). An individual cannot nominate themself. The system is confidential.

The person who is being nominated should not be approached for information nor should be advised of  their nomination at any stage. A past recipient of the Gold Medal may not nominate any of their sponsors for the award for at least a period of three award cycles.

Preparation of the nomination proposal

The nominator should provide a nomination letter (in English) that includes the following:

Selection criteria

Documented evidence of lifelong achievement within the field of Sexology. This encompasses either professional or voluntary work in any area of sexual health, sexuality education, research, counselling, the promotion of sexual rights or any other area pertinent to human sexuality. The Gold Medal Award Committee encourages broad representation, inclusive of a variety of disciplines, countries, personal background and gender.

Documents should be submitted electronically to the Chair 2021 Gold Medal Award Committee, Eleanor Maticka-Tyndale, PhD, MA, BA:

CLOSING DATE FOR SUBMISSIONS: February 28, 2021 at 12:00 AM (midnight), Eastern Time (EST).