Scientific Committee

Objectives of the Scientific Committee (2017-2021)

The Scientific Committee (SC) represents a range of disciplines, including public health, psychology, basic science, clinical and health sciences, human rights, sociology, education, medicine, and political sciences. The Scientific Committee is working towards a new membership and configuration of the scientific tracks after the Prague Congress. The Scientific Committee is responsible for recommending invited lectures and symposia, calling for presentations, selecting abstracts and creating and finalizing the Congress scientific program, and editing and publishing the Congress Proceedings in the Journal of Sexual Medicine (JSM).

Beyond the organization of the scientific program, the Scientific Committee contributes to and assesses the scientific validity upon which WAS statements are created and elaborated and advises and works in liaison with the WAS Officers and the Sexual Rights Committee (SRC) when taking part in global discussions and decisions. Also, the Scientific Committee aims to facilitate and further develop scientific activities among WAS member organizations, among others by coordinating a newly formed network in sex research.

Members 2017-2021

Chair:  Alain Giami (France)
Vice-chair:  Erick Janssen (Belgium/United States)

Tracks Members:

Sexual Rights & Ethics
Tommi Paalanen (Finland)
Tomoko Saotome (Japan)

Social & Behavioral Sciences
Terry Humphreys (Canada)
David Paternotte (Belgium)

Clinical Sciences & Therapy
Denise Medico (Canada/Switzerland)
Patricia Pascoal (Portugal)

Basic Science
Jim Pfaus (Canada)

Sexual Medicine
Mijal Luria (Israel)
Béatrice Cuzin (France)

Public Health and Public Policies
Kenneth Rochel de Camargo (Brazil)

Osmo Kontula (Finland)
Lin Myers Jovanovic (United States)

Members Bio

Osmo Kontula

Osmo Kontula, Ph.D., is a Research Professor at the Population Research Institute of the Family Federation of Finland. He has authored more than 350 publications, of which more than 50 are books. Osmo Kontula is an Associate Editor of the Journal of Sex Research (JSR), President of the Finnish Association for Sexology (FIAS), Past President of the Society for the Scientific Study of Sexuality (SSSS), and a Member of Advisory Committee and a Chair of Sexuality Education Committee in the World Association for Sexual Health (WAS). He has conducted national surveys of sexuality education in schools and adolescents’ sexual knowledge in Finland.




Terry Humphreys

Terry Humphreys is a Full Professor in the Department of Psychology at Trent University, Peterborough, Ontario, Canada. He is the Editor of the Canadian Journal of Human Sexuality (CJHS) and a Consulting Editor for the Journal of Sex Research. He is also the current Past President of the Society for the Scientific Study of Sexuality (SSSS), a long-standing planning committee member of the Guelph Sexuality Conference (Canada’s largest and longest running annual sexuality conference). His academic / research interests focus broadly on sexual communication in intimate relationships. Specifically, his expertise is in the negotiation of sexual consent in multiple contexts; sexting behavior in young adults; first sexual experiences; and unwanted/coercive sexual encounters.

Web Design by SiteWizard
Back to top