Governance Committee (2021-2025)

  1. Review, assess and propose changes in the Statutes and Bylaws of the Association
  2. Assess and recommend solutions to governance problems that eventually arise

Investigating with officers, members of the Advisory Committee, organizational and individual members their perceptions for the changes needed and elaborating a proposal to be studied and eventually accepted by the General Assembly.

Identify need for changes in the Statues and Bylaws, Propose modifications to satisfy new needs.

Optimization of the governance structure is needed for the proper functioning of the organization.

Via electronic communication with members, officers and advisors and then working online with the committee members.


Chair: Eusebio Rubio-Aurioles (Mexico)

Vice-Chair: Esther Corona Vargas (Mexico)



Meet The Committee

Eusebio Rubio-Aurioles

Eusebio Rubio-Aurioles obtained his MD at Universidad La Salle in Mexico City (1978) México D.F., and his PhD in the Program of Human Sexuality at New York University. (1988). He completed the post-doctoral training course in sex therapy at the Department of Psychiatry of the Mount Sinai Hospital of New York City (1983). Since 1984, he is professor at the Departamento de Psiquiatría y Salud Mental de la Facultad de Medicina UNAM. Since 2008, he also teaches at Hospital Fray Bernardino Alvarez to psychiatric residents, and 2014 he is also professor at Universidad La Salle. In 1987, he founded the Asociación Mexicana para la Salud Sexual, A.C. where he is the director and professor of a training process in psychosexual therapy and clinical sexology.

Esther Corona Vargas

Esther Corona Vargas is a clinical psychologist. Has worked in sexuality education, sexual and reproductive health and gender for over 50 years. Founder (1972) and President of the Mexican Association for Sexuality Education (AMES), first NGO in Mexico and pioneer in Latin America. Ex-President of the Latin American and Caribbean Committee for Sexuality Education. First Vice President of FEMESS. President of FLASESS during 1998–2002. Has been associated with WAS since its founding and has been a member of its Executive and Advisory Committees in several administrations. She is currently Co-Chair of the International Liaison Committee. International Consultant for United Nations Agencies as well as international and national NGOs.

Past Members 2017-2021

Chair: Eusebio Rubio-Aurioles (Mexico)

Vice-Chair: Esther Corona Vargas (Mexico)


Elsa Almas (Norway) (Advisory Committee: 2017-2021)

Fernando Bianco (Venezuela) (Past president: 1986-1989)

Jaqueline Brendler (BRAZIL) (Advisory Committee: 2017-2021)

Patti Britton (USA) (Advisory Committee: 2017-2021)

Eli Coleman (USA) (Past president: 1997-2001)

Rubén Hernández-Serrano (Venezuela) (Past president: 1993-1997)

Eusebio Rubio-Aurioles (Mexico) (Past president: 2005-2009)

Kevan Wylie (UK) Immediate Past President