Gold Medal Committee

The Gold Medal Committee was installed after the WAS World Congress in Valencia 1997. Lillemor Rosenqvist was elected Chair of the committee by the WAS Advisory Committee and it was decided that the other members of this committee should be the latest Gold Medal awardees. In July 2009 the WAS Advisory Committee decided that 3 additional persons, each of whom is a member of WAS and has extensive knowledge and experience, should be nominated as members to provide a balance.

Members 2019-2021:

Chair 2021 Gold Medal Award Committee: Eleanor Maticka-Tindale (Canada)
Chair 2023 Gold Medal Award Committee: to be named

Mireille Bonierbale (France)
Marie Perez-Conchillo (Spain)
Dennis Fortenberry (USA)

Members 2017-2019

Chair 2019 Gold Medal Award Committee: Julia R. Heiman (United States)
Chair 2021 Gold Medal Award Committee: Eleanor Maticka-Tindale (Canada)

Mona Kaidbey (United States)
Rafael Mazin (United States)
Jeffrey Weeks (United Kingdom)


The Gold Medal Committee is constituted to review all submissions for the award of the Gold Medal and to make a recommendation to the Advisory Committee on the most worthy, potential recipients.

Gold Medal Awards and Nominations

Gold Medal Awardees

Members Bio

Eleanor Maticka-Tyndale

Eleanor Maticka-Tyndale, PhD sociology from University of Calgary (1989), is a Distinguished University Professor Emerita, retired from the University of Windsor, Canada where she held a Canada Research Chair in Social Justice and Sexual Health. Her research is in the domain of sexual health and rights among marginalized populations and includes 31 projects with partners in Canada, the United States, Europe, Africa, and South and Southeast Asia, funded by some $18 million in grants and contracts. She has won awards for outstanding research from 3 international associations, published over 125 peer reviewed articles and chapters and 2 books, presented 168 peer reviewed papers or posters and made 32 invited keynote presentations at academic conferences.

Julia R. Heiman

Julia R. Heiman, PhD, is Professor of Psychological and Brain Sciences and Clinical Psychiatry at Indiana University in the USA. From 2004-2013, she served as the Director of the Kinsey Institute for Research in Sex, Gender, and Reproduction at Indiana University. Dr. Heiman has also served as President of the IASR, the ABPP and Editor-in-Chief of the Annual Review of Sex Research (2000-2004). She has earned a number of awards including the Distinguished Scientific Achievement Award from the Society of the Scientific Study of Sex (2001), the Richard J. Cross Award (2006), the SSTAR Masters & Johnson Award (2006), the Gold Medal Award from the World Association of Sexual Health (2009) and Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) (2012).